My nine-year-old just led a bible study for the both of us. She taught (!!!) out of 2 Kings Chapter 6. (Yeah – I’m kind of flipping out and speechless right now, too!!)

 

Vs. 17: “Don’t be afraid.” the prophet answered. “Those who are with us are more than those who are with them.” And Elisha prayed, “O Lord, open his eyes so he may see.” Then the Lord opened the servant’s eyes, and he looked and saw the hills full of horses and chariots of fire all around Elisha.

Sometimes, I don’t see what God has put around me, and I don’t know that He is protecting me, and protecting my daughters. I know He says that He is, but I forget, because I cannot see. But He is keeping His promise to me that he made, approximately a year before Jon died. I haven’t spoken of it to very many, because I’m still trying to believe it myself, and it happened to me!

But I can say this, because no matter where I have stepped, or what I have done since Jon died, I have been COMPLETELY protected and covered. No bill has gone unpaid, and no need has gone unfulfilled, (with the exception of the needs I have now that Jon is gone. I think God is giving me time to adjust to being a his widow right now.)

So why do I fret? Why do I worry about what is going to happen to my daughters and how we’re going to survive the rest of our lives without our Big Daddy?

My daughter told me that the lesson she learned from this passage was to NOT be afraid. That God is ALWAYS in control, and with her, like He is with me.

OK, Aurora. Mommy won’t be afraid. Even when I fight the urge to tremble, I will trust God. I will trust in what He has in store for us. Surely, He has something wonderful in mind.

