While I was at bible study tonight, I had the privilage of sitting with two older, wiser women, who were both single for a long period of time. They both had what they called “The Grace of Being Single.”

One was a widow, who’s husband died suddenly, twelve years ago. The other was a woman who had gotten a divorce 18 years ago, and had never remarried.

They had both focused on their children and responsibilities, without worrying about finding another man. They had a Grace from God, that kept that desire waned, and controlled.

In my own life, THAT is what I desire. I know there are a lot of people who might call me insane, or crazy, for not wanting to remarry or bring another man into our house. But I feel like I have also been given the Grace of Being Single, and that if that Grace ever lifts, my heart will be open to accepting a new man in my life. Otherwise, I don’t have to worry about it. I don’t WANT another man in my life, and the fact that I can say that with peace is really…empowering.

And with that, comes this..invisible shield that seems to protect me. As strange as it may seem, there have been men that have already come knocking, wanting to “be a shoulder to cry on”, and bottom-feed at my misery. Amazingly, I haven’t had to really be rude or push them away…they seem to just back off and realize that they’re talking to a wall.

The idea that not only am I comfortable with being single and feeling protected from the idiots that have the audacity to come around is really amazing. Wherever I go, and whatever I seem to do, God has shown up and been there. He truly is, “The defender of widows and the Father to the fatherless”

